CSBA Golden Quill nomination deadline extended
Nominate an outstanding education journalist by Sept. 30
The essential role that journalists play in helping the public understand and celebrate the often-complicated work of local educational agencies may have been more evident and important than ever before during the pandemic.

Journalists helped LEAs communicate with families and communities at-large as they navigated constantly changing federal, state and local guidelines and conditions to keep students safe.

CSBA’s annual Golden Quill Awards is a way to recognize these journalists for their contributions in increasing understanding of the objectives, operations, accomplishments, challenges and opportunities related to public schools. The Golden Quill Awards are given in recognition of fair, insightful and accurate reporting on public school news by individual print, broadcast and online news media representatives.

The deadline for this year’s nominations is Thursday, Sept. 30. Interested parties may nominate a representative from print, broadcast or online news media who has worked to understand your school, district or county office of education; developed relationships with your school board and staff; and whose reporting is accurate and transparent.

CSBA's Golden Quill Awards Logo
Learn more and make a nomination at
Introducing the Golden Gavel Governance Team of the Year Award
Keeping with CSBA’s tradition of recognizing the extraordinary efforts district and county boards make every day across California through its Golden Awards program, CSBA is proud to introduce the Golden Gavel Governance Team of the Year Award.

The award will recognize a governance team that exemplifies best practices in effective governance and boardsmanship. Exemplary governance teams will be judged on their ability to focus on learning and achievement for all students; communicate a common vision; govern effectively; apply an equity lens to guide decision-making; and commit to ongoing training to be an informed and effective team.

Nominations will open in spring 2022. Applicants must be current CSBA members at all times during the application and award process.

Learn more at